End of year review and New year resolutions…

I basically started my gardening this year and it has been a topsy-turvy ride. Good today, bad tomorrow, worse the next.

I battled ants (the bigger the better), snails, and  mosquitoes but with research I found a suitable solution for some of the pests like the one that plagued my Efirin.

before and after.
before and after.

I also found out planting lemon grass help to reduce the menace that are mosquitoes

20131231_085516

I battled lack of growth in most of my herbs, lettuces, watermelons. The ones that started growing rotted 20130715_195745 or didn’t grow to its full sizewpid-20130530_084701.jpgBut those that did well, did fantastically well 1424321_669227223107498_2098875224_n My watermelons that just kept growing, taking up space and didn’t bring forth any fruits (I hail o!)

Most of my seeds my aunt sent to me didn’t do well, I blame the weather and probably lack of proper care from me and treatment of the soil.

The sweet-corn the insects dealt with, not forgetting the snails.20130925_085232

Also for the places I went to check out plants, Shodex gardens, my very own horticulturist at the back of my house Yinka, and the amazing garden show.wpid-20130622_140636.jpg

In all, I’m grateful for the online support, from my blooming blog community, Cu_o and Sabirah ( still waiting on your guest post Sab)

While most of my readers are not in Nigeria as I really hoped for a more Nigerian centred audience its all good still and I’m still grateful for them.

It hasn’t been easy updating the blog regularly especially when most times I don’t have much to say.

20131231_085338
Fresh tomatoes from the garden
20131231_085417
Okra

So….

Thank you!!

Onto the new year, I usually do not bother making new year resolutions but this year I’m like whatever let’s do this!

So here is what I hope for the new year for my garden and of course the blog.

In no particular order really.

  • I designed a new space for gardening so that’s where I’ll be focusing most of my energy. 20131231_104707
  • I’m trying to incorporate an elevated garden and a bird bath so new projects yaaay!!
  • Also want to try my hands at grafting.
  • Building a proper compost pit.
  • Reach a wider Nigerian audience.
  • Start my little container garden project
  • I have some sour sop seeds I kept putting off planting, going to do that this new year.
  • Getting more people to guest post on here: So if you are in Nigeria and you have a garden or a space and you want to chip something in on here, please feel free to contact me greenandgardens@gmail.com. Thanks!!

Here’s to a great, fabulous and GREEN 2014.

20131231_085258
Duranta, it has the sweetest vanilla scent! shalla to Cu_o for this Duranta!!

Cheers!!!

Love and greens

‘Loba

9 Comments Add yours

  1. hrh7 says:

    I’m so glad I found this blog!
    And you might be happy to hear- I’m Nigerian and looking forward to starting a potted garden of my own. 🙂

  2. Funmibi says:

    Hi, glad to find your blog….. I love flowers. I have a little patch in front of my flat that I have planted flowers too. I am hoping to start a hanging garden this year cos I’m space constrained, work permitting. Happy gardening!

  3. BIBI says:

    O wow…So glad to see your blog! I’m but a lowly apartment dweller…container gardening is it for me, weather permitting. Good work!

  4. Sabirah says:

    Oh you guys the pressssure!
    I really loved reading your recap! So much happened this year. Damn girl look at those cucumbers! Crazzzzy good. You did amazing with your garden. I want to steal some of your resolutions oh. I will be back

    1. 'Loba says:

      Thanksss!! and I’ll send some cucumbers your way from my next batch 🙂

  5. cuo says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed this post.

    Those cucumbers look really good. Did you direct sow?

    Your garden design is interesting. I can’t wait to see it come to life. Maybe I’ll get to visit? *hint hint nudge nudge*. I hope you have a good gardening year!

    p.s: I’m also looking forward to a post from Sabs *ahem*

    1. 'Loba says:

      Thanks dear, Yes I sowed directly.

      Well consider yourself invited! hehe 🙂 I hope so for you too and for more seed sharing and tea parties *side-eye*

Leave a Reply

