Therapy.

It’s been a month I updated my blog and so much and so little have happened, everytime I think it is not necessary to update but I will try today.
I have a great big confession to make, I think I maybe losing interest in my gardening, not because of the waiting, it’s me. I may have a problem but then I find something new growing and I get all excited again.
I asked this question on one of my gardening social networking sites http://www.bloomingblogs.com (go there if you will) what kind of songs do you listen to while gardening if you do? Me I do a lot of random songs, especially my Nigerian songs. I like to dance in my garden sometimes and sometimes it is my place of peace to reflect so those times I do not listen to anything. But lately my watermelon has been invading everywhere I don’t feel peace when I go there anymore, that is part of my problem.

Ok I’m done with this therapy….pictures, the good, the bad and the really bad.

image

image

image

image

image

image
What the rain that fell 2 days ago did to my patch

image

image

image

image

image

The war between my watermelons and other plants, I think the melons are winning.

image

image

image

So I found that when these dry up on my canna lillies they have black seeds in them which I just planted, hoping to see the outcome.

image

image

Found this watermelons growing by the walkway on Mobolaji Bank Anthony in Lagos..love it.

Love and greens
‘Loba

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi, Tobiloba! Excellent post — nice and honest! Gardening can be tough, especially in a harsh environment. It is natural to feel discouraged at times, to want to flee rather than to confront. But I think gardening is in you; otherwise, you would have already stopped. The thing is, gardening takes all sorts of time — time to prepare the soil or garden patch, lots of time to do research on what to plant when, to find solutions for problems, and on what is new in the horticultural world. It takes time to weed, to nurture, to log and to blog. It all takes time, yet in the garden there is also that timelessness, too, and that peace that you speak of, as well as those small successes and exciting “discoveries” and challenges. Don’t give up. You are good and your garden is wonderful. Just stop, take a deep breath, exhale slowly, and relax. You are still the boss of the watermelon. 🙂

    Keep up the great work!

    1. 'Loba says:

      Thank you, Thank you so much for your kind words, I won’t forget in a hurry…makes me even want to get back inside my garden right now 🙂 ahh!! the peace keeps me going 🙂

  2. cuo says:

    I’m glad you blogged 🙂 I find also that the will to tend my plants comes and goes. Everytime I notice something new or get a new idea (hello, water feature!) I get super excited. A few weeks later, it’s all blah. That said, I super jealous of your melons! The pigeons decimated mine. I’ve had to start over. The only thing I have harvested consistently is spinach. Not terribly exciting. All that to say, don’t beat yourself up about it. Do what you can, when you can and all will be well 🙂

    Also, LOVE the picture of watermelons growing in the ‘wild’.

    1. 'Loba says:

      heeeyyyy, I want to see your water feature, hope you are really doing it??? all I harvest now myself is BAsil and there is just so much I can do with that! Thanks a lot.

  3. cuo says:

    @jayajade Courgette flowers maybe?

  4. jayajade says:

    🙂 i”m not very sure but I think I remember a chef on tv cooking the cucumber flowers…… i may be wrong though lol

    1. 'Loba says:

      Really? let me check it out. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

