My patch this week.

Actually I don’t have so much knowledge to impart this week but I have loads of pictures.

image
Blooming flowers from my coleus.

I really want to experiment the claim I’ve been seeing all over the internet that the coleus has some hallucinogenic properties and I think I have enough leaves on the Coleus to try it. Maybe I will post a detailed report of my findings. Lol.

image

Found a flower on one of my watermelon plants. *excited* Watermelon looks great too.

image

Tomatoes looking absolutely divine too.

image

New bed. Planted some hot pepper,
Chives, iceberg lettuce, cucumbers. Hoping it comes out great.
I can’t stress enough the importance of planting in shade. The sun in Lagos Nigeria is too harsh for most of these herbs and vegetables.

image

Found my lantana flowers blooming. The fragrance is absolutely sweet.

image

Hosta plants trying to take shape.

image

image

I need help in knowing what these white particles are and what exactly they do for the soil?

image

Love and Greens
‘Loba

5 Comments Add yours

  1. S says:

    Hi there. Love you blog! The white particles you see are vermiculite – “exfoliated vermiculite is combined with other materials such as peat or composted pine bark compost to produce soilless growing media for the professional horticulturalist and for the home gardener. These mixes promote faster root growth and gives quick anchorage to young roots. The mixture helps retain air, plant food and moisture, releasing them as the plant requires them.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vermiculite
    Keep up the good work!

  2. Uy says:

    Hahaha! Just started following your blog and I love it. I’ve got a nice coleus in my garden. Yet to experience any “hallucinogenic” effects though. I’m inspired by your plants to do more!

  3. kovieparker says:

    Hey dear, I just nominated you for a Liebster award because I think your blog is awesome. http://futurenewyoker.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/liebster-award/

  4. Very nice! Your patch is looking great! You’ve been busy!

  5. cuo says:

    Your tomato plant looks really good. And that watermelon!! I need to find seeds for other varieties of melon, particularly honeydew which I love.

Leave a Reply

