No information in the Tropics

My thesis content has made me read extensively on Nigeria’s weather and in doing so I’ve tried to use the information to sift through gardening blogs to find the ones that fit into my climate. If you have been reading my blog for a while now you will notice I always complain about the lack of information on gardening in Nigeria and even the horticulturists I meet are usually no help. My local horticulturist even has no idea of the Latin and common names of the plants he supplies. Sacrilege!! Anyway my side of Nigerian weather falls under the Tropical rain forest. I also want to believe when gardeners say a plant needs about 6-7 hours of full sunlight, considering our harsh sun here that should translate to about 3-4 hours of full sunlight right? Please use the comments section and direct me towards gardening blogs that work with this weather. Thanks.

Love and Greens
‘Loba

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. pensoldier says:

    I can’t thank you enough for being such a pioneer. I recently moved to Abuja and I’m in the process of installing a balcony garden, that is until I hit the brick wall, there’s just no information! To top it off, I don’t think we technically belong to any hardiness zone. Sigh.
    I’m in desperate need of information on low growing flowering plants or with colourful leaves. Anything would be immense!

    1. 'Loba says:

      Hi, can you send me an email, lets talk?

    1. 'loba says:

      Yes, it is under the tropical climate umbrella, but the specifics will obviously be slightly different. Thanks a lot will check it out.

  2. I garden in a tropical area, but it’s a dry tropics zone here in north Queensland, Australia. We probably grow a few of the same things, and I’m sure that the conditions maybe close, but probably not matching exactly.

    I find it difficult to locate any other gardeners who garden in a dry tropics zone, but I do enjoy following all sorts of gardeners across the world.

    1. 'loba says:

      I have the same difficulty too, but its so fascinating to see what others can grow that I can’t. I will follow your blog now hopefully I get some tips too. thanks for coming my way.

      1. I’m sure we’ll find quite a bit of common ground between us, but I’m also looking forward to seeing how the differences impact on our gardens. Thanks for becoming a follower. I hope you enjoy the posts. I have to admit though that I don’t post weekly. It’s more like monthly!

Leave a Reply

