Been around, weeds and more mistakes.

I’ve been busy with my little patch lately, and I visited a nursery too which was really exciting for me, got to see new plants and I realized I misnamed one of my precious plants. more to come anyway.

My canna lilies are finally flowering[ will put up pictures when they are properly done] and I realized how much they can turn to a weed in my garden if I’m not careful.

Shodex Gardens just along the road by Anthony bus-stop is the nursery I visited and even though I wasn’t exactly impressed by their array of plants its a great one for a place like Nigeria and at least the person that attended to me sort of knew his stuff.

Image
Shodex nursery… peep my Coleus
Image
More plants at the nursery

Image
Coleus Blumei

He corrected my error in thinking this was Begonia which is actually a specie of Coleus and for that I bought another specie of Coleus. whoop.

Image
Coleus

I’m really sorry for the mislead, I didn’t even realize how much work blogging is, especially about gardening that I have to get all the facts right first before actually posting, who knows who is actually reading my blog.

I transplanted my Mexican heather after realizing how haphazardly I planted them initially and though I’m still waiting for the verdict if it will thrive or not, its looking really good.

I’m still trying to find out why we don’t have as much variety of plants in Nigeria as I hoped we should have considering we actually have great weather, sorta.

more pictures will come later of my transplanting and the replanting of the cuttings of a new plant I got from my local horticulturist, in the process of searching for the name because now I don’t trust him to give me the right names, I came across a weed that is actually Morning glory. Morning glory is a weed where I stay, hmmmn maybe I will try to cultivate it as a regular plant.

Interesting how some plants are sought after in some places and it is a weed in some other parts of the world.

Don’t forget to comment, ask questions and correct me or send me an email at greensandgardens@gmail.com. Check out my Nigerian plants database page too, I update that regularly.

Love and Greens

‘Loba

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Angie says:

    You have some lovely plants there. We can all make mistakes with the names of our plants and we are all grateful when we get corrected!

    1. 'loba says:

      thanks for that, I felt so bad having misled people albeit unintentionally. I will keep that in mind.

Leave a Reply

